TikTok wants you to take a break before watching state-controlled media

TikTok wants you to take a break before watching state-controlled media

TikTok wants you to take a break before watching state-controlled media

TikTok now labels state-affiliated media in more than 40 new markets, including the United States, Canada and much of Europe, the social media company announced on Wednesday. This is an extension of a pilot program conducted in Belarus, Russia and Ukraine in 2022.

TikTok said its policy is to label accounts “whose editorial production or decision-making process is subject to the control or influence of any government.” The policy will be further extended at a later date, the company said. Accounts labeled as state-affiliated will have the opportunity to appeal.

When users scroll through a video from an account with TikTok’s state-controlled label, they receive a pop-up warning advising them to pause and consider whether the content is pushing a pro-government agenda.

TikTok began rolling out its label for state-affiliated media content in more than 40 additional countries in January 2023.


TikTok says it partners with independent experts to identify accounts that should be considered controlled by governments, and considers a variety of factors including the post’s mission, funding, staff and management. , and editorial guidelines for determining whether users should be alerted to account content. Obtaining government funding does not automatically qualify an account for the label, depending on editorial protections.

The move comes as TikTok faces increasing scrutiny in the US, with several universities, states and the federal government consider or enact bans against the app on certain devices.

Here is the full list of countries to which TikTok’s state-affiliated media policy is extended: Afghanistan, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Mongolia, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Cyprus, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, United Kingdom, United States and Uzbekistan.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.