Latest Nigeria News - Latest Naija Gists

6 smallest countries in Africa


6 smallest countries in Africa

6 smallest countries in Africa

Africa is the world’s second-largest and second-most-populous continent, after Asia. At about 30.3 million km² including adjacent islands, it covers 6% of Earth’s total surface area and 20% of its land area.

With 1.3 billion people as of 2018, it accounts for about 16% of the world’s human population.

All of the five smallest African nations are island nations. These include the Seychelles, São Tomé and Príncipe, Mauritius, Comoros, and Cape Verde. The smallest nation in the continental mainland of Africa is The Gambia.

1. Seychelles

6 smallest countries in Africa

Seychelles is an archipelagic island country in the Indian Ocean at the eastern edge of the Somali Sea. It consists of 115 islands. Its capital and largest city, Victoria, lies 1,500 kilometres (932 mi) east of mainland Africa. With a population of roughly 94,367, it has the smallest population of any sovereign African country.

2. São Tomé and Príncipe

6 smallest countries in Africa

The second smallest country in Africa, São Tomé and Príncipe, is located in the Gulf of Guinea. São Tomé and Príncipe are the two main islands of the archipelago. The islands are located at a distance of about 250 and 225 km off the coast of Gabon in mainland Central Africa. The country has an area of 964 square km. São Tomé and Príncipe has a population of 201,800.

3. Mauritius

6 smallest countries in Africa

Mauritius is an island nation in the Indian Ocean about 2,000 kilometres (1,200 mi) off the south-east coast of the African continent. The country includes the islands of Mauritius, Rodrigues, Agaléga and St. Brandon. The capital and largest city, Port Louis, is located on the main island of Mauritius. Mauritius has a population of 1,265,985 and it is a major tourist destination. It is the only country in Africa where Hinduism is the largest religion.

4. Comoros

6 smallest countries in Africa

Comoros is an island country in the Indian Ocean located at the northern end of the Mozambique Channel off the eastern coast of Africa between northeastern Mozambique, the French region of Mayotte, and northwestern Madagascar. The capital and largest city in Comoros is Moroni. The island nation has a population of 850,688.

5. Cape Verde

6 smallest countries in Africa

Cabo Verde, also called Cape Verde, a country comprising a group of islands that lie 385 miles (620 km) off the west coast of Africa. Cape Verde has a population of 543,767. Visit Sal and Boa Vista first as they draw a great deal more tourists than most of the other islands thanks to their pristine beaches and excellent conditions for windsurfing

6. The Gambia

6 smallest countries in Africa

The Gambia is a country in Western Africa. The Gambia is commonly referred to as the smiling coast of Africa. It is the smallest country within mainland Africa, and is surrounded by Senegal, except for its western coast on the Atlantic Ocean. The Gambia has a population of 2,051,363. Gambia river which runs through the entirety of the country, and Serekunda “the unofficial capital” are some of the places you should see.

The post 6 smallest countries in Africa appeared first on .

Promote Your Music and Video With AfroNaija Today Please Whatsapp Dj AfroNaija On +2349092093564
What do you think about this song? We want to hear from you. Drop your comments

South Africa News

Get breaking South Africa news, south africa news today, latest south african news today, what is happening in south africa, latest news south africa, headlines today breaking news, daily news south africa, current situation in south africa

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.