Audiomack Promotion

CJN swears in eight supreme court judges


CJN swears in eight supreme court judges

CJN swears in eight supreme court judges

The Chief Justice of Nigeria, Tanko Mohammed has sworn-in eight new justices into the Supreme Court of Nigeria.

The eight justices were led by the chief justice of Nigeria (CJN), Ibrahim Muhammad as they took their oath of office on Friday.

The total number of justices at the apex court has now risen from the intial 12 to 20 following the addition.

Upon taking their oath of office, the justices ascended to the bench to be with their 12 senior colleagues who were already seated.

The newly inaugurated justices are Tijjani Abubakar, representing the north-east zone; Mohammed Garba from the north-west; Abdu Aboki from the north-west, and Mohammed Saulawa, also from the north-west.

Others are Adamu Jauro (north-east), Samuel Oseji (south-south), Helen Ogunwumiju (south-west), and Emmanuel Agim (south-south).

Garba was the judge who led the five-man presidential election tribunal which heard the petition filed by the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and Atiku Abubakar, its presidential candidate, challenging the victory of President Muhammadu Buhari at the 2019 poll.

The Garba panel dismissed Atiku’s petition against the election of Buhari. Aboki was also on the panel.

The post CJN swears in eight supreme court judges appeared first on Within Nigeria.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

About Author
Aminat Aigbe
Aminat Aigbe is the first lady of afronaija and a very good blogger ( Original Mrs AfroNaija )

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.