Polish referee, Szymon Marciniak, has confessed that he made some wrong calls during the 2022 World Cup final game between Argentina and France.
Marciniak became the first official from Poland to oversee the biggest game in world football last Sunday.
He has received plenty of applause from pundits and fans for his performance.
Among Marciniak’s highlight were three rightfully awarded penalties and booking French striker Marcus Thuram for diving without consulting VAR.
However, the 41-year-old has confessed it was not a perfect outing for him.
“Of course, there were mistakes in this final,” he told Sport.PL.
“I interrupted the French counter-attack after a bad tackle by Marcos Acuna.
“I was afraid that the fouled player wanted to unwind, and I read it wrong because nothing happened, and you could give an advantage and then come back with a card.
“It’s hard. In a game like this, I take such a mistake in the dark. The important thing is that there were no big mistakes.”
The post 2022 World Cup: I Made Some Mistakes During Argentina Vs France Final –Marciniak appeared first on Complete Sports.
Leave a Reply