Former Super Eagles forward, Julius Aghahowa has criticised the centre referee for awarding Argentina a controversial penalty against France in the final of the 2022 World Cup.
In a chat with Brila FM, Aghahowa stated that Angel di Maria was not touched at all in the buildup to the penalty.
He alleged that FIFA had already given the World Cup to Argentina even before the kickoff of the game.
“He [Di Maria] wasn’t touched. The game has been given before it was played,” Aghahowa said on Brila FM.
“In such a game, shouldn’t it be checked by the VAR? This is clearly [a] demonstration that the World Cup was meant to be handed to Argentina and particularly, Lionel Messi.
“It’s unfortunate, it’s unfair.”
Recall that Argentina defeated France on penalty shootouts after the game had ended 3-3 after extra-time.
The post 2022 World Cup: Argentina Was Handed A Dubious Penalty Against France –Aghahowa appeared first on Complete Sports.